Steve Saylor against a backdrop of gold sparkles, titled GAconf (IGDA-GASIG) Awards 22

Welcome to the 2022 edition of the GAconf Awards!

The GAconf awards are a continuation of the industry-wide movement to recognise the stellar efforts of people across and around game development to raise the bar for accessibility.

There are 18 categories, shortlisted by an expert panel, with winners decided on by a combination of public and jury vote.

Public vote: 

Thursday Dec 1st to Thursday Dec 8th

The winners will be announced at a streamed ceremony in January hosted by the inimitable Steve Saylor, with some guests joining him, and a few other surprises along the way!

The categories for this year are:

  • AAA excellence
  • Indie excellence
  • Best deaf/HoH accessibility
  • Best physical/mobility accessibility
  • Best blind / low vision accessibility
  • Best cognitive accessibility
  • Best representation
  • Best journalism
  • Best academic research
  • Most improved
  • Best resource
  • Most accessible gaming event
  • Hardware innovation
  • Biggest accessibility surprise
  • Most dedicated publisher
  • Most dedicated studio
  • MVP award for most dedicated developer
  • The Susan Banks advocacy award

GAconf Awards 2022

January 2023